Groton, Connecticut town records
In Groton, deeds are recorded by the Town Clerk; property values come from the Assessment Division; court files are split between the Clerk, Superior Court, New London Judicial District and the Clerk, Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London.
On this page
- Where to get each record
- Deeds and land records
- Property values, owners and tax bills
- Court records: which clerk keeps which case
- Marriage records
- Divorce records
- Birth certificates
- Death certificates
- Probate records and wills
- Business names (DBA)
- Historical records
- Good to know about Groton records
- Office addresses, phones and hours
- Records that are not online: public records requests
- Questions people ask
- Official copies vs look-alike sites
- Sources
Where to get each record
| Record | Office | Search online | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deeds and land records | Town Clerk2 | Search deeds1Fee charged | $1 per page1 |
| Property values and owners | Assessment Division2 | Property search3 | — |
| Property tax bills | Tax Collection2 | Tax bill search4Fee charged | — |
| Court cases | Clerk, Superior Court, New London Judicial District5 Clerk, Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London5 | Connecticut Superior Court, New London Judicial District6 Connecticut Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London7 | Superior Court clerk: copies $1 per page; certifying under seal $2; copy of a judgment file $25 certified / $15 uncertified (CGS 52-259)8 |
| Marriage records | Town Clerk2 | — | Certified copy fee: $20.00 per copy; by mail to the Groton Town Clerk with SASE, or online via Permitium or VitalChek (service fees)9 |
| Divorce records | Superior Court, New London Judicial District; family clerk at 1 Courthouse Square, Norwich (860-887-3515)10 | — | — |
| Birth certificates | Town Clerk2 | — | $20.00 per certified copy (plus vendor fee and postage for card orders: $1 regular mail or $17.50 next business day)9 |
| Death certificates | Town Clerk2 | — | $20 per certified copy; mail with money order payable to Groton Town Clerk and SASE, or online via Permitium/VitalChek9 |
| Probate and wills | Southeastern CT Regional Probate Court13 | Search probate cases11 | $5 per document up to 5 pages + $1 per additional page (statewide statutory fee)12 |
| Business names (DBA) | Town Clerk2 | — | $20 to file a Trade Name Certificate; expires 5 years from filing (pre-2025 filings expire December 31, 2029)1 |
Deeds and land records
Deeds, mortgages and other land documents for property in Groton are recorded by the Town Clerk (Land Records).2
- Online search
- recordhub.cottsystems.com1Fee charged
- Cost
- Fee to print images via RECORDhub (amount not stated by the town)1
- Who runs it
- Cott Systems RECORDhub1
- Years online
- Land records online from 1962 to present; maps and trade name certificates also viewable online1
- Copy fee
- $1 per page1
- Certified copy fee
- Additional $2 for certification1
- Map copy fee
- Maps and surveys: $3 for 11 x 17; $5 for full size1
- How to order
- Online via RECORDhub, or in person at the Town Clerk's Office in Groton Town Hall during working hours (cash or check; no cards)1
- Recording hours
- Documents for recording presented between 8:30am and 4:00pm1
- Property alert
- Free PropertyCheck property and mortgage fraud alert via RECORDhub1
Property values, owners and tax bills
The Assessment Division sets property values2; Tax Collection (Tax Collector) bills and collects the tax2.
- Property search
- maps.groton-ct.gov/apps/GrotonGISViewer (GIS Viewer with assessment information, deeds, property cards and pictures)3
- Tax bill search
- mytaxbill.org/inet/bill/home.do (Quality Data Service / Invoice Cloud; fee-based payment)4
- Parcel map (GIS)
- maps.groton-ct.gov/apps/GrotonGISViewer (property ownership data current to 09/28/2026; 2025 Grand List)3
- Appealing a value
- Board of Assessment Appeals: written application by February 20 (2026 for the October 1, 2025 Grand List); meets in March, September for motor vehicles; Superior Court appeal within 60 days of the Board's decision notice14
- Revaluation
- 2026 revaluation of real estate under way; assessments are 70% of market value14
- Tax fees
- Online payment: e-check $1.95; credit 2.99% (minimum $3.95)4
How property tax works in Connecticut
Court records: which clerk keeps which case
| Court | Cases | Records kept by | Case search |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut Superior Court, New London Judicial District | Civil and major criminal at New London (70 Huntington St.); family matters at Norwich (1 Courthouse Square) | Clerk, Superior Court, New London Judicial District (civil, at New London) | civilinquiry.jud.ct.gov Civil, family, housing, small claims; no fee stated; statewide Judicial Branch Case Look-up6 |
| Connecticut Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London | Criminal and motor vehicle cases (geographical area court) | Clerk, Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London | jud.ct.gov/crim.htm Judicial Branch criminal/motor vehicle look-up (no fee stated)7 |
- Town to court
- Groton: Judicial District New London; G.A. 10; juvenile matters at Waterford10
- Fees
- Superior Court clerk: copies $1 per page; certifying under seal $2; copy of a judgment file $25 certified / $15 uncertified (CGS 52-259)8
How Connecticut courts keep their files
Marriage records
Kept by the Town Clerk (Vital Records).2
- Marriage license
- $50.00; by appointment (Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m., call 860-441-6640); ceremony must take place in Groton; valid 65 days; cash or check9
- Waiting period
- From October 1, 2026: two visits; license issued no sooner than 48 hours after application9
- Certified copy fee
- $20.00 per copy; by mail to the Groton Town Clerk with SASE, or online via Permitium or VitalChek (service fees)9
Connecticut marriage records, statewide
Divorce records
Superior Court, New London Judicial District; family clerk at 1 Courthouse Square, Norwich (860-887-3515)10
Connecticut divorce records: decree or state record
Birth certificates
Kept by the Town Clerk (Vital Records).2
- Fee
- $20.00 per certified copy (plus vendor fee and postage for card orders: $1 regular mail or $17.50 next business day)9
- Ordering online
- grotonct.permitium.com/rod (Permitium) or VitalChek; both charge a service fee9
- Any town births
- Births in Groton or to Groton-resident mothers, plus any Connecticut birth after June 20019
- Restriction
- Only the registrant, child, parent/guardian, spouse, grandparent or authorized legal representative; birth records over 100 years old are public9
Ordering a Connecticut birth certificate
Death certificates
Kept by the Town Clerk (Vital Records).2
- Fee
- $20 per certified copy; mail with money order payable to Groton Town Clerk and SASE, or online via Permitium/VitalChek9
- Years held
- Death records back to the early 1700s9
Ordering a Connecticut death certificate
Probate records and wills
Kept by the Southeastern CT Regional Probate Court (PD-30).13
- Online search
- ctprobate.gov/case-lookup11
- About this search
- Probate Case Lookup (no fee stated; decedent estates and trusts from Jan. 5, 2011)11
- Copy fee
- $5 per document up to 5 pages + $1 per additional page (statewide statutory fee)12
- Certified copy fee
- $5 per certified copy for the first two pages + $2 per page after the second12
- Uniform fees
- Probate fees are uniform statewide15
Finding a will or probate case in Connecticut
Business names (DBA)
Kept by the Town Clerk (Land Records).2
- Fee
- $20 to file a Trade Name Certificate; expires 5 years from filing (pre-2025 filings expire December 31, 2029)1
Historical records
Vital and land records dating back in some cases to the 1600s; visits by appointment, no staff genealogical research9
Good to know about Groton records
- Groton's Town Clerk holds vital and land records reaching back in some cases to the 1600s, with death records from the early 1700s.9
- Groton land records are online from 1962 on Cott Systems RECORDhub; printing costs a fee there, while paper copies at Town Hall are $1 a page.1
- The Groton Town Clerk accepts only cash or checks, not credit or debit cards.16
- Groton's Tax Division also collects for nine taxing districts and political subdivisions plus the Groton sewer district.17
- The regional probate court for Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington and Stonington (including Mystic) sits in Groton Town Hall.13
- Census lists a separate City of Groton government inside the Town of Groton.18
Office addresses, phones and hours
Town Clerk (Land Records)
- Address
- Groton Town Hall, 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 0634016
- Groton Town Clerk, 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 063409
- Phone
- Land Records (860) 441-6642; fax (860) 441-6703; recorded infoline (860) 441-679616
- Hours
- Monday thru Friday, 8:30am to 4:30pm; opens at 9 am on Thursdays16
Town Clerk (Vital Records)
- Address
- Groton Town Hall, 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 0634016
- Groton Town Clerk, 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 063409
- Phone
- Administrative/Vital Records (860) 441-664016
- Hours
- Monday thru Friday, 8:30am to 4:30pm; opens at 9 am on Thursdays16
Assessment Division
- Address
- 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 0634014
- Phone
- 860-441-6660 (option 1); fax (860) 441-667817
- Hours
- M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Town Hall hours)14
- Website
- groton-ct.gov/…2
Tax Collection (Tax Collector)
- Address
- 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 06340-437017
- 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 06340-437017
- Phone
- 860-441-6670 (option 4); fax 860-441-667817
- [email protected]17
- Hours
- M - F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm (Town Hall hours)17
Clerk, Superior Court, New London Judicial District (civil, at New London)
- Address
- 70 Huntington Street, New London, CT 0632010
- Phone
- (860) 443-536310
- Website
- jud.ct.gov/…5
Family Clerk, New London Judicial District (at Norwich)
- Address
- 1 Courthouse Square, Norwich, CT 0636010
- Phone
- (860) 887-351510
- Website
- jud.ct.gov/…5
Clerk, Superior Court, Geographical Area No. 10 at New London
- Address
- 112 Broad Street, New London, CT 0632010
- Phone
- (860) 443-834310
- Website
- jud.ct.gov/…5
Southeastern CT Regional Probate Court (PD-30)
- Address
- Town Hall, 45 Fort Hill Road, Groton, CT 0634013
- Phone
- (860) 441-6655; fax (860) 441-665713
- Hours
- Mon - Fri 8:30 - 4:3013
- Website
- ctprobate.gov/…13
Registrars of Voters
- Address
- 61 Fort Hill Road (Groton Community Center Building, road entrance), Groton, CT 0634019
- Phone
- (860) 441-665019
- [email protected]19
- Hours
- Thursday - Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm; Tuesday 5:00pm - 7:00pm; or by appointment19
GIS (Geographic Information Systems)
Records that are not online: public records requests
- Request page
- groton-ct.gov/… (FOIA Request Form)2
How to write a public records request
Questions people ask
How do I get a copy of a deed in Groton?
Can I search Groton land records online for free?
No, the official online search charges a fee. Fee to print images via RECORDhub (amount not stated by the town). The official search: recordhub.cottsystems.com1
How much is a birth certificate in Groton?
$20.00 per certified copy (plus vendor fee and postage for card orders: $1 regular mail or $17.50 next business day).9
Where do I get a divorce decree in Groton?
Superior Court, New London Judicial District; family clerk at 1 Courthouse Square, Norwich (860-887-3515).10
How do I look up who owns a property in Groton?
Use the property search of the Assessment Division: maps.groton-ct.gov/apps/GrotonGISViewer3
Official copies vs look-alike sites
A certified copy comes only from the office that holds the record; reports and "research copies" sold by commercial sites are not issued by any Groton office. How to tell an official record source from a paid look-alike.
Other towns and cities in Connecticut with a full guide: Bridgeport, Bristol, Cheshire, Danbury, East Hartford, Enfield, Fairfield, Glastonbury, Greenwich, Hamden, Hartford, Manchester, Meriden, Middletown, Milford, Naugatuck, New Britain, New Haven, Newington, Norwalk, Norwich, Shelton, Southington, Stamford, Stratford, Torrington, Trumbull, Vernon, Wallingford, Waterbury, West Hartford, West Haven. Every town and city in the state: Connecticut town and city list.
Sources
Every fact above links to the official page it comes from; all 20 sources were checked on November 4, 2026. Fees and rules change, so check the office's own page before you pay or travel.
- Town of Groton
- Town of Groton
- Town of Groton
- Town of Groton
- Judicial District Courts Staff DirectoryConnecticut Judicial Branch
- State of Connecticut Judicial Branch
- State of Connecticut Judicial Branch
- CGS Chapter 901 (court fees, sec. 52-259)Connecticut General Assembly
- Town of Groton
- State of Connecticut Judicial Branch
- Probate Case LookupConnecticut Probate Courts
- CGS Chapter 801b (Probate Court fees)Connecticut General Assembly
- Southeastern CT Regional Probate CourtConnecticut Probate Courts
- Town of Groton
- Fees, Expenses & CalculatorsConnecticut Probate Courts
- Town of Groton
- Town of Groton
- Census Government Units List 2026 (excerpt: Enfield, Norwich, Groton)US Census Bureau
- Town of Groton
- County population totals: Vintage 2025 (July 1, 2025)US Census Bureau