Indiana public records: who holds what
In Indiana, deeds are recorded by the County Recorder; birth and death certificates come from the Local health department / Indiana Department of Health, Division of Vital Records; and requests for other government records fall under the Access to Public Records Act (APRA). Below: who holds every other record, what copies cost and the official link for each office.
On this page
Who holds what in Indiana
The office that keeps each record, and the fee the law or the office sets for a copy. Open a record type for the full rules, ordering steps and older records.
| Record | Who holds it | Copy fee |
|---|---|---|
| Deeds | County Recorder in each of Indiana's 92 counties (deeds, mortgages, plats, liens, military discharges, assumed business names)1 | $1.00 per page for copies 11 x 17 inches or smaller; $5.00 per page for larger copies (IC 36-2-7-10), statewide statutory recorder fee2 |
| Property records | County (or township) assessor sets assessed value; county auditor applies deductions, exemptions and other adjustments and sends certified net assessed values to DLGF; DLGF reviews budgets and converts them into tax rates; county auditor and treasurer calculate, generate and mail tax bills3 | — |
| Court records | State judicial branch; three kinds of trial courts: circuit courts, superior courts, and city/town courts. Records are kept by the county Clerk of the Circuit Court.4 | Clerk document fee: not more than $1 per page for a copy; $1 per certificate (certification under seal) (IC 33-37-5-1 etc.)5 |
| Marriage records | Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county that issued the license (certified copies)6 | — |
| Divorce records | Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county where the divorce (dissolution) was granted7 | Clerk copy fee max $1/page; $1 per certification5 |
| Birth certificates | Indiana Department of Health, Division of Vital Records (state records from October 1907) and local health departments where the birth occurred (faster)8 | State (IDOH): $10.00 first certificate, $4.00 each additional copy in the same order; fees non-refundable; third-party online/phone processing fees extra; IDOH does not accept cash9 |
| Death certificates | IDOH Division of Vital Records (state records from 1900) and local health department where death occurred8 | State (IDOH): $8.00 first certificate, $4.00 each additional copy in same order9 |
| Probate and wills | Clerk of the Circuit Court in the county where the estate case is heard (filed wills and estate documents)6 | — |
Public records law in Indiana
Access to Public Records Act (APRA) (IC 5-14-3) Read the law10
This law covers records that agencies hold, such as a county office's correspondence or a property file. Recorded deeds, vital records and court files usually have their own rules, set out in each record section.
- Who can ask
- Any person, including corporations and non-residents of Indiana; since July 1, 2026 agencies may prioritize Indiana residents and civic/journalistic/academic/personal requests and delay out-of-state and automated requests11
- Response time
- Agency must respond (not necessarily produce) within 24 hours if the request is made in person, by phone, or for enhanced access; within 7 calendar days if mailed, faxed or emailed. Records must then be produced within a reasonable time. No response in time = deemed denial.11
- Copy fees
- No fee to inspect or to search/review. Local (non-state) agencies: fee schedule set by the fiscal body; copies may not exceed the greater of $0.10/page black-and-white or $0.25/page color, or actual cost; certification max $5 per document. State agencies: uniform copying fee set by the Indiana Department of Administration, not more than the greater of the average cost of copying or $0.10 per page; reasonable fee for nonstandard sizes. Law-enforcement recording copy max $150.11
- If a request is refused
- Formal complaint to the Public Access Counselor within 30 days of the denial (counselor issues a non-binding advisory opinion within 30 days), and/or lawsuit in the circuit or superior court of the county where the denial occurred; fees/costs generally awarded to a prevailing plaintiff only if the counselor was contacted first11
- What is exempt
- Mandatory exceptions (IC 5-14-3-4(a)): records confidential by state or federal law or court rule, trade secrets, confidential financial info, transcripts and exam scores, patient medical records, autopsy photos/recordings, Social Security numbers. Discretionary (4(b)): law-enforcement investigatory records, attorney work product, deliberative material, personnel-file items, security information, etc. Confidential records (except adoption) generally open after 75 years.11
- Official guide
- in.gov/pac/files/pac-handbook.pdf (Indiana uses a Public Access Counselor, not the Attorney General, for open-records guidance)11
More on the Access to Public Records Act (APRA)
- Response time in person
- 24 hours after any employee receives the request (in person, by telephone, or enhanced access)11
- Fees no search
- No fee to inspect or to search for/examine/review a record11
- Fees supplemental
- From July 1, 2026: agencies may charge a supplemental fee for out-of-state and automated requests, tied to actual cost, max $0.25/page or $25/hour of staff time (IC 5-14-3-8(n)); may be waived in the public interest10
- Who can request priority
- Agencies may give priority to Indiana residents and to requests for civic, journalistic, academic or personal use (requester must state the purpose to get priority); may delay out-of-state and automated requests (IC 5-14-3-8.1)10
- Request format
- Request must identify the record with reasonable particularity; agency may require a written request on its form11
- Portals
- From July 2026 agencies may use electronic request portals with CAPTCHA, address verification and Indiana-residency checks (IC 5-14-3-3.3), and may deny suspected data-scraping or phishing requests10
- Going to court
- Civil action to compel disclosure in circuit or superior court of the county where denial occurred (IC 5-14-3-9)11
- No lists required
- Agency need not create a list that does not exist11
- Litigation denial
- From July 2026 an agency may deny a request made by a party to pending or ongoing litigation that duplicates a discovery request that party made in the litigation (IC 5-14-3-4(e))10
How to write a public records request
How Indiana organizes its records
- Township assessors. Property assessment may be done by a county or township assessor11
- 2026 APRA changes (HEA 1360). From July 1, 2026, agencies may screen requests via portals, prioritize Indiana residents, charge out-of-state/automated supplemental fees and deny suspected data-scraping/phishing requests10
- Faster vital records locally. Local health departments issue birth/death certificates faster than the state office9
- Clerk of the Circuit Court handles marriage licenses. Marriage licenses and copies come from the county Clerk of the Circuit Court, not a county clerk/recorder or health department12
Other records: background checks, voters, businesses, maps
Criminal history checks
- State repository
- Indiana State Police Central Records Division: Limited Criminal History (Indiana-only name/DOB search of felony and misdemeanor arrests); fingerprint-based national check also offered13
- Fee
- Online: $15.70 per search by credit card (non-subscribers), $15.00 for IN.gov subscribers, $7.00 for government agencies; charged even for 'No Records Found'14
- By mail
- Mail request form with money order payable to State of Indiana to ISP, Criminal History Limited Check, P.O. Box 6188, Indianapolis, IN 46206-6188 (mail fee not stated on the current page; State Form 8053 R11/4-14 lists $7.00 for its listed request categories)13
- Who may order
- No eligibility list is stated for the online name search. The ISP mail form (State Form 8053, R11/4-14) requires a stated reason for the search, lists qualifying purposes (e.g., employment application, licensing, public office candidacy, volunteering with children) and requires the requester to affirm under penalty of perjury that the report will be used only as stated; misuse is a Class C infraction (IC 10-13-3-27)15
- Online fee schedule
- Online fee: $15.00 per record (subscribers), $15.70 per record (credit card)16
More about criminal history checks
- Mail form fee
- State Form 8053 (R11/4-14) states 'The cost is $7.00' for a mailed Limited Criminal History request (certified check or money order); the current ISP page does not state the mail fee, so confirm with ISP before relying on it15
- Coverage
- Records maintained since the mid-1930s14
- Official page
- in.gov/ai/appfiles/isp-lch17
- Courts note
- mycase.in.gov is not a complete criminal history6
Sex offender registry
- Official registry
- icrimewatch.net/indiana.php (Indiana Sex and Violent Offender Registry, linked from IDOC)18
- Agency
- Indiana Department of Correction, Sex & Violent Offender Registry division17
Inmate and jail lookups
- State prisons
- IDOC Offender Locator (facility assignment and DOC number)19
- County jails
- Statewide county-jail offender locator at public.indianajail.gov, linked by the Indiana courts17
- Records
- Records of an incarcerated person require an Authorization of Release form; send by mail or email20
Voter records
- Public or restricted
- Voter registration records are generally public records under APRA, except declinations, the registration-agency identity, Address Confidentiality Program participants, and proof-of-citizenship documents; full SSN redacted21
- County requests
- Requests for SVRS data at a county voter registration office use State Form VRG-24; requester agrees not to use it for commercial solicitation21
- Statewide file
- Statewide file from the Indiana Election Division: certain persons (e.g., major parties) may buy the unrestricted file for $5,000 per calendar year; others may get a restricted copy (DOB, gender, etc. redacted)21
- Check your registration
- IndianaVoters.in.gov (official voter portal)22
Business names (DBA)
- At the county
- Sole proprietorships and general partnerships using a name other than their real name file an assumed business name with the County Recorder in each county where situated23
- County citation
- IC 23-0.5-3.4 (as cited by Hamilton County Recorder)24
- At the state
- Entities registered with the Secretary of State (corporations, LLCs, LPs, LLPs, nonprofits) file assumed names with the Secretary of State through INBiz, not at the county23
- Search portal
- INBiz (inbiz.in.gov), Indiana Secretary of State business portal with Business Search25
Liens and UCC filings
- UCC filings
- Indiana Secretary of State is the UCC filing office; paper filing $4 (1-2 pages) or $8 (3+ pages); paper search $5 per debtor name; no statutory fee for electronic filing/search26
- UCC filing office
- Filing office = Indiana Secretary of State26
- Agricultural liens
- Agricultural liens are filed with the county recorder26
- Real property liens
- Mechanics', HOA, sewer, federal and other real-property liens are recorded with the county recorder2
- Judgment liens
- Court judgments become liens on real estate via the clerk's judgment docket ($3 to record transcript of judgment)5
GIS and parcel maps
- State GIS portal
- IndianaMap (indianamap.org), the state GIS portal linked by the Indiana Geographic Information Office; also Data Harvest hub27
- Parcel data
- IndianaMap links the state Data Harvest download for parcels, boundaries, streets and address points (dataharvest.gio.in.gov/pages/data-access); parcel data originate with counties28
Historical and genealogy records
- State archives
- Indiana State Archives (IARA), 6440 E. 30th St., Indianapolis, IN 46219; (317) 591-5222; [email protected]29
- Holdings
- Original federal and state land-office sales, some county probate and marriage records transferred by counties, court records, naturalization, military records1
- State library
- Indiana State Library Genealogy Collection (one of the largest family-history collections in the Midwest); Indiana Legacy marriage indexes are covered under marriage.statewideIndex30
- Vital history
- State did not require births/deaths to be recorded until 1882; state recording from 190731
Counties in Indiana
23 counties with a full guide
Each guide lists the office for every record type, the official online searches, copy fees, phones and hours.
- Allen County
- Bartholomew County
- Boone County
- Clark County
- Delaware County
- Elkhart County
- Floyd County
- Hamilton County
- Hancock County
- Hendricks County
- Howard County
- Johnson County
- Lake County
- LaPorte County
- Madison County
- Marion County
- Monroe County
- Porter County
- St. Joseph County
- Tippecanoe County
- Vanderburgh County
- Vigo County
- Warrick County
All 92 counties
Names in bold open our guide. Names with an arrow go to the county's own website, where the US Census Bureau lists one and it opened when we checked.32
- Adams County
- Allen County
- Bartholomew County
- Benton County
- Blackford County
- Boone County
- Brown County
- Carroll County
- Cass County
- Clark County
- Clay County
- Clinton County
- Crawford County
- Daviess County
- Dearborn County
- Decatur County
- DeKalb County
- Delaware County
- Dubois County
- Elkhart County
- Fayette County
- Floyd County
- Fountain County
- Franklin County
- Fulton County
- Gibson County
- Grant County
- Greene County
- Hamilton County
- Hancock County
- Harrison County
- Hendricks County
- Henry County
- Howard County
- Huntington County
- Jackson County
- Jasper County
- Jay County
- Jefferson County
- Jennings County
- Johnson County
- Knox County
- Kosciusko County
- LaGrange County
- Lake County
- LaPorte County
- Lawrence County
- Madison County
- Marion County
- Marshall County
- Martin County
- Miami County
- Monroe County
- Montgomery County
- Morgan County
- Newton County
- Noble County
- Ohio County
- Orange County
- Owen County
- Parke County
- Perry County
- Pike County
- Porter County
- Posey County
- Pulaski County
- Putnam County
- Randolph County
- Ripley County
- Rush County
- Scott County
- Shelby County
- Spencer County
- St. Joseph County
- Starke County
- Steuben County
- Sullivan County
- Switzerland County
- Tippecanoe County
- Tipton County
- Union County
- Vanderburgh County
- Vermillion County
- Vigo County
- Wabash County
- Warren County
- Warrick County
- Washington County
- Wayne County
- Wells County
- White County
- Whitley County
Warnings from official sources
- Deed Processing Notice mailers. Companies mail official-looking notices offering deed copies for $86; recorder copies cost $1 per page (Howard County Recorder)33
- Only authorized online vendor for IDOH vital records. VitalChek is the only IDOH-authorized online ordering vendor; other sites are not authorized (Indiana Department of Health)9
- Calls or messages asking for money about inmate records. Government agencies will not ask for payment or personal information through the jail portal or by unsolicited contact about an inmate record; do not respond and report it to local law enforcement (Indiana County Jail Public Portal (INjail))34
Official copies vs look-alike sites
A certified copy comes only from the office that holds the record; reports and "research copies" sold by commercial sites are not issued by any Indiana office. How to tell an official record source from a paid look-alike.
Official directories
Lists that name the office in every county.
- Directory of Courts & Clerks in Indiana (all 92 counties)35
- Local Courts: Trial Courts & Clerks by County36
- Indiana Counties Directory (county government links)37
- Local Health Department Map38
- DLGF County Specific Information39
Sources
Every fact above links to the official page it comes from; all 39 sources were checked on November 4, 2026. Fees and rules change, so check the office's own page before you pay or travel.
- Land Records (Search Archives Holdings)Indiana Archives and Records Administration
- Accounting and Uniform Compliance Guidelines Manual: County RecordersIndiana State Board of Accounts
- Citizen's Guide to Property TaxIndiana Department of Local Government Finance
- About the Indiana Judicial BranchIndiana Judicial Branch
- Indiana Trial Court Fee ManualIndiana Supreme Court, Indiana Office of Court Services
- How to Request Public RecordsIndiana Judicial Branch
- Vital Records: MarriagesIndiana Department of Health
- About Vital RecordsIndiana Department of Health
- Vital Records: Order CertificatesIndiana Department of Health
- Overview of Changes to the Access to Public Records Act (APRA), HEA 1360 / P.L. 97-2026Indiana Office of the Public Access Counselor
- Handbook on Indiana's Public Access LawsIndiana Office of the Public Access Counselor
- Apply for a Marriage LicenseIndiana Judicial Branch
- ISP: Get Limited Criminal HistoryIndiana State Police
- Limited Criminal History FAQIndiana State Police / IN.gov
- State Form 8053 Limited Criminal History & Fee ExemptionIndiana State Police
- Indiana State Police - Limited Criminal History SearchIndiana State Police / IN.gov
- Public RecordsIndiana Judicial Branch
- IDOC: Sex & Violent Offender RegistryIndiana Department of Correction
- Indiana Department of Correction
- IDOC: Offender RecordsIndiana Department of Correction
- 2026 Indiana Voter Registration GuidebookIndiana Election Division
- Indiana Election DivisionIndiana Secretary of State / Election Division
- How do I file an Assumed Business Name (DBA)?IN.gov State Information Center
- Assumed Business Name (DBA)Hamilton County Recorder, Indiana
- INBiz homeIndiana Secretary of State
- Indiana Secretary of State UCC Administrative RulesIndiana Secretary of State
- Indiana Geographic Information OfficeIndiana Office of Technology - GIO
- IndianaMap: Indiana's Geospatial Open Data PortalIndiana Geographic Information Office (linked from in.gov/gis)
- Ordering Records from the ArchivesIndiana Archives and Records Administration
- GenealogyIndiana State Library
- Census & Vital Records (Search Archives Holdings)Indiana Archives and Records Administration
- Government Units List 2026US Census Bureau
- Deed Scam AlertHoward County Recorder, Indiana (hosted on in.gov/counties)
- INjail: Indiana County Jail Public PortalIndiana county jails portal, linked by Indiana Judicial Branch
- Directory of Courts & Clerks in IndianaIndiana Judicial Branch
- Local Courts: Trial Courts & Clerks by CountyIndiana Judicial Branch
- Indiana Counties DirectoryIN.gov
- Local Health Department MapIndiana Department of Health
- County Specific InformationIndiana Department of Local Government Finance